Skip to main content
GoodVat

Comparison tool

Kintsugi vs Numeral

How Kintsugi and Numeral compare on price, filing, country coverage, e-invoicing and integrations, built from each vendor’s own pages. Pick any two tools to compare them.

Showing Kintsugi compared with Numeral.

Facts checked on against each vendor’s public pages.

Kintsugi and Numeral at a glance

Kintsugi

Pay-per-filing sales tax

Kintsugi monitors nexus for free and, on its Starter plan, charges per registration or filing in the US and Canada. Custom monthly plans add EU, UK and other VAT and GST, real-time calculation and the API.

Starting price
$0 a month
Countries covered
100+ countries
Files returns
Yes

Choose Kintsugi if you’re one of these:

  • small US sellers filing a few returns a year
  • Shopify or Stripe merchants who want to start with free monitoring

Numeral

Pay-per-filing sales tax

Numeral monitors nexus for free, then registers and files US sales tax for a fee per registration and per return. VAT and GST in 90+ countries and the tax engine API are on a custom Enterprise plan.

Starting price
$0 a month
Countries covered
90+ countries
Files returns
Yes

Choose Numeral if you’re one of these:

  • US ecommerce sellers on Shopify, Amazon or WooCommerce
  • startups that want a low fixed cost

Key differences between Kintsugi and Numeral

  • Kintsugi includes Canadian GST/HST; with Numeral it’s an add-on.
  • Kintsugi includes VAT number validation; with Numeral it’s an add-on.
  • Kintsugi offers an MCP server for AI assistants; Numeral doesn’t say whether it does.

Kintsugi is free to start and charges per filing (Free monitoring; Starter is $75 per registration or filing). Kintsugi charges for each registration and return, so the bill grows with every state and filing. Numeral is free to start and charges per filing (Free monitoring; $75 per return and $150 per registration). Numeral charges for each registration and return, so the bill grows with every state and filing. Having one US state’s returns filed costs $75 per filing with Kintsugi. Having one US state’s returns filed costs $75 per filing with Numeral.

Kintsugi vs Numeral: full comparison

Every row comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, help centre or docs. “Not stated” means the vendor doesn’t say publicly, not that the feature is missing.

Kintsugi compared with Numeral on pricing, coverage, features, integrations and support, checked November 6, 2026.
CriterionKintsugiNumeral
Overview
Type of toolPay-per-filing sales taxFree nexus monitoring, then pay per filingPay-per-filing sales taxPay-per-filing sales tax with free monitoring
Built for
  • Small businesses
  • Ecommerce
  • SaaS
  • Mid-market
  • Ecommerce
  • SaaS
  • Small businesses
  • Mid-market
Countries covered100+ countriesMonitoring on every plan; filing on custom plans90+ countriesOn the Enterprise plan
Head officeUnited StatesUnited States
Founded2022Independent, venture-backed (Vertex is an investor)2023Independent, venture-backed
Pricing
Starting price$0 a monthFree monitoring; Starter is $75 per registration or filing$0 a monthFree monitoring; $75 per return and $150 per registration
Pricing modelFee per filingFee per filing
One price covers every state and countryNoPriced per filingNoPriced per filing
Free planYesYes
Free trialFree plan insteadNo
Month to monthYesYes
Prices publishedPartialPartial
Filing: one US state$75 per filingStarter plan, no monthly fee$75 per filingProfessional plan, no monthly fee
Filing: one countryQuote onlyCustom plans onlyQuote onlyEnterprise plan only
Registration: one US state$75 one-offUS and Canada, on Starter$150 one-off
Registration: one countryCustom plans onlyEnterprise plan only
Tax coverage
US sales taxYesYes
EU VATYes*Custom plansYes*Enterprise plan
EU One Stop Shop (OSS)Yes*Custom plansYes*Enterprise plan
EU Import One Stop Shop (IOSS)Not statedNot stated
UK VATYes*Custom plansYes*Enterprise plan
Canada GST/HSTYesGST/HST, PST and QSTYes*Enterprise plan
Australia and New Zealand GSTYes*Custom plansYes*Enterprise plan
Rest of the worldYes*Custom plansYes*Enterprise plan
Compliance features
Nexus and threshold monitoringYesFree planYesFree plan
Real-time tax calculationYes*Scale plan and upYes*Enterprise plan
Tax registrationYesPaid per registration on StarterYesPaid per registration
Return filing and paymentYesPaid per filing on StarterYesPaid per return, with an on-time guarantee
Invoices and credit notesNot statedNot stated
E-invoicingNot statedNot stated
VAT number validationYesYes*Enterprise plan
Exemption certificatesYesYesFirst 50 certificates free
Marketplace facilitator salesNot statedNot stated
Developers and platforms
Public APIYes*Premium planYes*Enterprise plan
MCP server for AI assistantsYesMCP serverNot stated
White-label for platformsNot statedNot stated
Integrations
ShopifyYesYes
WooCommerceYesYes
BigCommerceYesYes
Adobe Commerce (Magento)Not statedNot stated
AmazonYesYes
EtsyNot statedYes
StripeYesYes
PayPalNot statedNot stated
ChargebeeYesYes
QuickBooksYesYes
XeroNot statedYes
NetSuiteYesYes
Integration libraryIntegrations included at no extra cost40+ billing, accounting, ERP and commerce integrations
Setup and support
SetupGuided onboardingFree onboardingGuided onboardingConcierge onboarding
Support channelsemail, chat and phoneAlso SlackemailConcierge support from tax experts

Yes*: offered as an add-on or on a higher plan; the note under it says how. Via partners: done by a third party. Partial: limited, see the note. Not stated: the vendor doesn’t say publicly.

Strengths and watch-outs

Kintsugi

Strengths

  • Free nexus monitoring across the US and 100+ countries
  • Month to month, with no monthly fee on Starter
  • An MCP server for AI assistants

Watch-outs

  • International VAT and GST prices aren’t published
  • Real-time calculation starts on the Scale plan
  • Per-filing fees add up for monthly filers in many states

Numeral

Strengths

  • Free nexus monitoring and no monthly fee to file
  • On-time filing guarantee that covers penalties
  • 40+ commerce, billing and accounting integrations

Watch-outs

  • International coverage and the API are Enterprise-only
  • Per-return fees add up for monthly filers in many states
  • A young company, founded in 2023

Kintsugi vs Numeral: FAQ

Answers built from the same facts as the table above.

Is Kintsugi cheaper than Numeral?

Kintsugi is free to start and charges per filing (Free monitoring; Starter is $75 per registration or filing). Kintsugi charges for each registration and return, so the bill grows with every state and filing. Numeral is free to start and charges per filing (Free monitoring; $75 per return and $150 per registration). Numeral charges for each registration and return, so the bill grows with every state and filing. Having one US state’s returns filed costs $75 per filing with Kintsugi. Having one US state’s returns filed costs $75 per filing with Numeral.

Do Kintsugi and Numeral file tax returns for you?

Kintsugi offers return filing (Paid per filing on Starter). Numeral offers return filing (Paid per return, with an on-time guarantee). Kintsugi offers tax registration (Paid per registration on Starter). Numeral offers tax registration (Paid per registration).

Which covers more countries, Kintsugi or Numeral?

Kintsugi calculates tax in 100+ countries. Numeral calculates tax in 90+ countries. Kintsugi offers EU VAT as an add-on (Custom plans). Numeral offers EU VAT as an add-on (Enterprise plan).

Do Kintsugi and Numeral support e-invoicing?

Kintsugi doesn’t say publicly whether it offers e-invoicing. Numeral doesn’t say publicly whether it offers e-invoicing.

Which integrations do Kintsugi and Numeral have in common?

Both connect to Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, Amazon, Stripe, Chargebee, QuickBooks and NetSuite. Only Numeral lists Etsy and Xero.

Who should choose Kintsugi, and who should choose Numeral?

Kintsugi suits small US sellers filing a few returns a year and Shopify or Stripe merchants who want to start with free monitoring. Numeral suits US ecommerce sellers on Shopify, Amazon or WooCommerce and startups that want a low fixed cost.

Sources and method

Every fact comes from the vendor’s own pages, checked November 6, 2026. Where a vendor doesn’t say, we write “Not stated”. GoodVat publishes this comparison and is one of the tools in it. Spotted an error? Email hello@goodvat.com.

Independently reviewed and signed off by accountants in 4 jurisdictions on November 6, 2026, to keep it objective.

More comparisons

All comparisons

Want returns filed at a known price?

GoodVat registers you, calculates tax at checkout, sends invoices and files your returns, with filing prices published per US state and per country. Tell us where you sell and we’ll map what you need.